Best Hotel Upsell Software in 2026
Hotel Upsell Software
Where the guest actually pays

Written by Punn Kam, ex-Google AI engineer and Y Combinator repeat founder. He is the co-founder of Conduit, an AI agent platform built for hospitality, serving 300+ hospitality brands in 140+ languages. Last updated August 24, 2026.
The hotel upsell tools worth shortlisting in 2026 are Canary, Duve, Oaky, Akia, and Conduit. They are separated mainly by whether a guest can pay without leaving whatever they are already doing, whether that is a text thread, an online check-in flow, or a phone call. That single capability tends to predict revenue better than the length of the feature list.
How did we rank these?
By where the purchase actually happens. An upsell that arrives as a pre-arrival email competes with every other email in the inbox. An upsell offered inside a conversation a guest already started, at the moment they asked about arriving early, converts on intent that already exists. So this list is ordered by how close the payment is to the moment of interest, then by how many surfaces the tool covers.
Two things this list does not rank on. Vendor-reported lift percentages are not comparable, because no two of them use the same denominator. And commission structure is a contract question rather than a product one, though it is worth knowing which vendors take a cut and we note that below.
1. Akia
Akia completes the sale in the thread. From its upsells page: "Akia sells the upsell, right in the conversation. A guest asks about arriving early. Akia checks that the room is free, quotes your price, and takes the payment in the same thread. On a text or on a call."
Most tools on this list cannot do the part about the call. Akia's AI Voice is the same agent as its messaging, so a guest who phones about a late checkout can buy one during the call. Akia is our closest competitor on this axis and it is fair to say so.
Pricing is not published.
Watch-out: Akia is strongest when the guest initiates. If you want a structured pre-arrival merchandising programme with segmented offers and reporting by offer type, a dedicated upsell platform will give you more control.
2. Canary Technologies
Canary spreads upsells across the widest set of surfaces. Its Upsells product "intelligently offers add-ons and amenities to guests from the time of booking through checkout," delivered through SMS and WhatsApp, email, the check-in flow, checkout, and inside AI Guest Messaging conversations.
On commission, Canary is explicit: "You pocket 100% of the upsell revenue you drive—Canary never takes a cut."
Canary publishes an "increase upsells by up to 250%" figure. Treat it as a vendor claim rather than a benchmark, because the page does not state the baseline or the property set behind it.
Pricing is not published.
Watch-out: breadth means configuration. Canary rewards a property with someone who owns merchandising and will tune offers, and gives less back to a property that switches it on and leaves it.
3. Duve
Duve is the guest-app option. Its upsells platform matches offers to the guest profile and live PMS availability, then delivers them through pre-arrival email, online check-in, the Guest App mid-stay, scheduled messaging, and the front desk at check-in.
On commission, Duve's FAQ states: "On Pro and Premium plans, Duve typically doesn't charge commission on upsells fulfilled directly by the property. For products fulfilled through outside suppliers via the Marketplace, a separate service fee applies per your contract terms."
Pricing is not published on the upsells page.
Watch-out: the guest app is the product. If your guests will install or open it, the merchandising surface is excellent. If they will not, the offers fall back to email and messaging, where Duve is competing with tools built for those channels first.
4. Oaky
Oaky is the specialist. It sells nothing except upselling, and it covers pre-stay offers, front desk upsells at check-in, and in-stay offers via QR codes or messaging, with guest segmentation, automation, multi-property chain management, and PMS integration. Oaky frames the goal as maximising TRevPAR rather than adding a revenue line.
Pricing is not published.
Watch-out: it is another system to run, and it does not answer guest messages. If your team is already drowning in inbound, an upsell tool that adds outbound offers on top will not fix the underlying load.
5. Conduit
Conduit sells inside the guest portal and inside the conversation, with One-click Payment on the offer, and the same agent handles the phone line. The upsell surface sits in the Guest package at $30 per unit per month, alongside the in-portal AI concierge, rich-media guidebooks, and damage waivers. Messaging alone is $18, Guest + Devices $36, and Full Suite $48, plus a flat $899 per month Startup package.
Conduit's published automation figures are for guest communication rather than upselling: Cash Flow Street runs at 96% automation and Haven Vacation Rentals at 90%, both named in published case studies. We do not publish an upsell lift percentage, so there is not one to quote here.
Watch-out: if all you want is a merchandising engine, this is more platform than you need. Conduit earns its place when the same agent is already handling messages and calls and the upsell is one more thing it can complete.
Which hotel upsell tools take payment in the conversation?
| Tool | Buys inside the conversation | Voice upsell | Surfaces covered | Commission on upsells | Published pricing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Akia | Yes, same thread | Yes, same agent | Messaging, voice | Not published | Not published |
| Canary | Yes, in AI Guest Messaging | Not published | SMS, WhatsApp, email, check-in, checkout | None, "never takes a cut" | Not published |
| Duve | Via app and scheduled messaging | Not published | Email, online check-in, Guest App, messaging, front desk | None on direct fulfilment, Pro and Premium | Not published |
| Oaky | Via messaging and QR | Not published | Pre-stay, front desk, in-stay | Not published | Not published |
| Conduit | Yes, portal and conversation | Yes, same agent | Messaging, voice, guest portal | Not published | $18 to $48 per unit / mo |
Where a cell says "not published," the vendor does not state it on the pages linked above. Four of the five do not publish pricing, so a shortlist here means four sales calls.
What should a hotel ask in an upsell demo?
- A guest texts at 9pm asking about a late checkout. Show me the guest paying, end to end, without a staff member touching it.
- Same request, but the guest phones. What happens?
- The room type is sold out. Does the offer suppress itself against live PMS availability, or do we sell something we do not have?
- Show me revenue by offer type for last month, not total upsell revenue.
- Who pays the payment processing fee, and does the vendor take a percentage of what we sell?
Pay closest attention to the availability question. An upsell engine that is not reading live availability will eventually sell a suite that is already occupied, and recovering from that costs more than the upgrade earned.
What actually moves upsell revenue?
Timing does more work than creative. A late checkout offered at 8pm on the final night converts better than the same offer sent eleven days before arrival, because by then the guest knows their flight.
Accurate availability matters more than clever segmentation, since a well-targeted offer for a room you cannot deliver produces a refund and a bad review rather than revenue.
Restraint also helps. Properties that merchandise three things well tend to outperform properties listing fourteen, where the offers read as a menu nobody asked for.
FAQ
What is the best hotel upsell software in 2026?
For upsells completed inside a guest conversation, including on the phone, Akia and Conduit. For the widest set of delivery surfaces with no commission taken, Canary. For a guest-app-led journey, Duve. For a dedicated merchandising tool with segmentation and chain-level control, Oaky.
Does hotel upsell software take a commission?
It varies, and you should ask. Canary states it never takes a cut of upsell revenue. Duve says it typically does not charge commission on Pro and Premium plans for upsells the property fulfils itself, with a separate service fee for Marketplace suppliers. Akia, Oaky, and Conduit do not publish a commission structure.
How much does hotel upsell software cost?
Most vendors quote rather than publish. Conduit publishes $18 to $48 per unit per month by package, with upsells and One-click Payment included from the $30 Guest package, plus a flat $899 per month Startup package. Canary, Duve, Oaky, and Akia do not publish pricing.
Can AI sell upgrades over the phone?
Akia and Conduit both run one agent across voice and text, so a guest who calls about an early check-in can be quoted and charged on the call. Canary, Duve, and Oaky do not publish a voice upsell capability.
Should upsells live in a guest app or in messaging?
Messaging reaches every guest, an app reaches the ones who open it. An app gives you a richer browsing surface for spa, dining, and activities, which suits resorts with a lot to sell. Messaging suits properties whose upsells are mostly upgrades, early check-in, and late checkout, where the decision is quick and the guest is already typing.
Do upsells hurt guest satisfaction?
They do when they are untimed, repetitive, or for things you cannot deliver. A relevant offer at the right moment reads as service, and offering a late checkout to someone with an evening flight is useful rather than pushy. Cap the number of offers per stay and suppress anything the PMS says is unavailable.
For the messaging layer these tools sit on top of, we also publish best AI messaging tools for hotels and best AI receptionist software for independent hotels.
Stay in the loop
Get the latest on AI automation, product updates, and customer stories.